gold key

Signature Annual Gold Key Awards presentation and dinner, co-sponsored by the San Diego Hotel-Motel Association and the HSMAI San Diego Chapter, traditionally held in February. Honors exceptional individuals within the San Diego Hospitality community in the following categories.

The James V. Cunningham Personalized Service Award

Honors the individual who, regardless of palpable pressures and demands, consistently displays, through measurable action, a willingness to serve. Past recipients include:
  • 2016 - John Kienle, Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
  • 2017 - Daryl O’Donnell, Centerplate, San Diego Convention Center
  • 2018 - Tom Payne, PSAV San Diego
  • 2019 - Ted File, San Diego Tourism Authority
  • 2020 - Dari Desousa, RAR Hospitality

Revenue Management Professional of the Year Award:

  • 2016 - Kristin Pinder, L’Auberge Del Mar
  • 2017 - Melissa Ochoa, RAR Hospitality
  • 2018 - Christie Gammon, The US Grant/Westin Gaslamp Quarter
  • 2019 - Christine Kramer, Omni Hotel San Diego
  • 2020 - Justin Hulet, Sycuan Casino Resort

SDHMA Awards the following eight categories:

  • Food and Beverage Person of the Year
  • Guest Service Associate of the Year
  • Heart of the House Associate of the Year
  • Hotel Leader of the Year
  • Hotelperson of the Year
  • Patti Roscoe Award--Allied Person of the Year
  • Salesperson of the Year
  • Gold Key Award